Jump to content

  • Log in with Twitter Log In with Google Log In with Steam Sign In
  • Create Account

Important Announcement!

Welcome to the Site! Make sure to Register first to get access to all the Features. I know the site is empty at the moment but what site isn't empty in the beginning? :P Click here to read the FAQ. The FAQ will answer the majority of the questions that you have such as "Allowed Signature Size and Avatar Size". Please click here to read the Rules and see what is allowed and what not. Thank you for joining! Have fun posting, help us fill the site with love and art!

Photo

My Hackintosh Build


  • Please log in to reply
13 replies to this topic

Fireclaw
    • Group: VIP Member
    • Title: ∞ Infinite Darkness ∞
    • Posts: 1,210
    • Last active: May 12 2015 04:33 PM
    • Joined: 20 Oct 2013


    Users Awards

Posted 02 June 2014 - 10:15 PM

I plan on ordering the parts sometime in the next week or so...

Feedback would be appreciated...

http://pcpartpicker....wX/saved/tVBTwP


Posted Image


faux
    • Group: Regular Member
    • Title: House Beoulve
    • Posts: 212
    • Last active: May 23 2015 05:04 PM
    • Joined: 13 Jan 2014


    Users Awards

Posted 02 June 2014 - 11:50 PM

Looks like you went the safe route, haha. What are you going to do with it?

As it is, The CPU is a bit too much in general, but it would be fine if you are using it for things like video editing, which I think is the case. 

IMO, there is always a benefit to be had with SSDs as the primary drive. And then have things installed onto the slave drive/set as your scratch drive. 

I think just 1TB is too little for video purposes. Unless you chose that because you have addition means of storage available. Because you can find a 3TB Toshiba for 92 USD at the moment (The drives are formerly Hitachi which is on par with WD in terms of Quality).

http://blog.backblaz...e-should-i-buy/

 

This is a personal choice, but unless you use CDs regularly, I'd opt for a USB CD/DVD instead. Cuts down on a little bit of power and I like the extra space.


Edited by faux, 02 June 2014 - 11:51 PM.


Muppie
    • Group: Contest Moderator
    • Title: Omigodilovemoosomuch
    • Posts: 3,598
    • Last active: Dec 25 2015 02:05 PM
    • Joined: 11 Oct 2013
      • LocationHolland


    Users Awards

Posted 03 June 2014 - 06:13 AM

Grats mate :D

I hope you wont drop it the first day and break everything


Posted Image

http://muppiemaster.deviantart.com/

More than machinery we need humanity. -Charles Chaplin


Fireclaw
    • Group: VIP Member
    • Title: ∞ Infinite Darkness ∞
    • Posts: 1,210
    • Last active: May 12 2015 04:33 PM
    • Joined: 20 Oct 2013


    Users Awards

Posted 03 June 2014 - 03:49 PM

Looks like you went the safe route, haha. What are you going to do with it?

As it is, The CPU is a bit too much in general, but it would be fine if you are using it for things like video editing, which I think is the case. 

IMO, there is always a benefit to be had with SSDs as the primary drive. And then have things installed onto the slave drive/set as your scratch drive. 

I think just 1TB is too little for video purposes. Unless you chose that because you have addition means of storage available. Because you can find a 3TB Toshiba for 92 USD at the moment (The drives are formerly Hitachi which is on par with WD in terms of Quality).

http://blog.backblaz...e-should-i-buy/

 

This is a personal choice, but unless you use CDs regularly, I'd opt for a USB CD/DVD instead. Cuts down on a little bit of power and I like the extra space.

Yeah lol, I don't really know anything about Hackintoshing, so I just picked a mo-bo that is tried and tested... That being said, I'm really tempted to go with a Z97 instead of Z87 because the 97 has broadwell support. (But I'm not sure if it's OSX compatible) Also, it is gonna be for both editing and gaming so yeah :P

 

Putting an SSD is a bit to expensive for me XD and I've already got another 1TB SSHD ready to go.

Also, I use still use CD's plenty so I put an optical drive in there, but I've always got an external one, so I could go without if I really had to, I'm just to lazy XD

 

Grats mate :D

I hope you wont drop it the first day and break everything

Haha, thanks :P

Hopefully I can put in the orders for parts this weekend, so I can be building in the next few weeks :D


Posted Image


Baka
    • Group: Admin
    • Title: Buy vip >.>
    • Posts: 3,758
    • Last active: Apr 08 2017 03:45 PM
    • Joined: 09 Oct 2013
      • LocationIn Moo's Pants jk


    Users Awards

Posted 04 June 2014 - 03:00 AM

Why would you even put OSX on this build? Windows 4 life



Fireclaw
    • Group: VIP Member
    • Title: ∞ Infinite Darkness ∞
    • Posts: 1,210
    • Last active: May 12 2015 04:33 PM
    • Joined: 20 Oct 2013


    Users Awards

Posted 04 June 2014 - 07:15 PM

Why would you even put OSX on this build? Windows 4 life

School/work reasons lol, also I want to get into iOS app development :O

Also, since the i7 4790k just came out, I'll be getting that, no point getting a regular ass 4790 when it's only $25 dollars more.


Posted Image


SirMoo
    • Group: Admin
    • Title: Rawr! :3
    • Posts: 1,107
    • Last active: Jan 30 2017 01:50 PM
    • Joined: 09 Oct 2013
      • LocationMexico


    Users Awards

Posted 04 June 2014 - 07:34 PM

School/work reasons lol, also I want to get into iOS app development :O

 

No work should have a requirement for a vanity OS. This is not functionality that it provides that is any better than a windows PC.



Fireclaw
    • Group: VIP Member
    • Title: ∞ Infinite Darkness ∞
    • Posts: 1,210
    • Last active: May 12 2015 04:33 PM
    • Joined: 20 Oct 2013


    Users Awards

Posted 04 June 2014 - 09:04 PM

No work should have a requirement for a vanity OS. This is not functionality that it provides that is any better than a windows PC.

Eh, it's not like I'm required to have it on my personal build, but I use it at work and school, so I'm used to it... And I want to learn iOS app development, so I might as well :O

Windows is still my primary go-to OS for everyday stuff.


Posted Image


SirMoo
    • Group: Admin
    • Title: Rawr! :3
    • Posts: 1,107
    • Last active: Jan 30 2017 01:50 PM
    • Joined: 09 Oct 2013
      • LocationMexico


    Users Awards

Posted 04 June 2014 - 10:21 PM

Eh, it's not like I'm required to have it on my personal build, but I use it at work and school, so I'm used to it... And I want to learn iOS app development, so I might as well :O

Windows is still my primary go-to OS for everyday stuff.

 

I don't like that you have to pay for the dev kit...



Fireclaw
    • Group: VIP Member
    • Title: ∞ Infinite Darkness ∞
    • Posts: 1,210
    • Last active: May 12 2015 04:33 PM
    • Joined: 20 Oct 2013


    Users Awards

Posted 05 June 2014 - 01:47 PM

I don't like that you have to pay for the dev kit...

Eh, you don't really have a choice. They have almost 50% market share with iPhones and iDevicess, and the other 50% if Android, which has a really confusing dev kit. At least apple's is professional and easy to use :O


Posted Image


SirMoo
    • Group: Admin
    • Title: Rawr! :3
    • Posts: 1,107
    • Last active: Jan 30 2017 01:50 PM
    • Joined: 09 Oct 2013
      • LocationMexico


    Users Awards

Posted 05 June 2014 - 01:50 PM

Eh, you don't really have a choice. They have almost 50% market share with iPhones and iDevicess, and the other 50% if Android, which has a really confusing dev kit. At least apple's is professional and easy to use :O

 

What's confusing about the android one? Other than not knowing Java in general... I didn't have a problem.



Fireclaw
    • Group: VIP Member
    • Title: ∞ Infinite Darkness ∞
    • Posts: 1,210
    • Last active: May 12 2015 04:33 PM
    • Joined: 20 Oct 2013


    Users Awards

Posted 05 June 2014 - 01:57 PM

What's confusing about the android one? Other than not knowing Java in general... I didn't have a problem.

There's no standard parts D:


Posted Image


SirMoo
    • Group: Admin
    • Title: Rawr! :3
    • Posts: 1,107
    • Last active: Jan 30 2017 01:50 PM
    • Joined: 09 Oct 2013
      • LocationMexico


    Users Awards

Posted 05 June 2014 - 02:07 PM

There's no standard parts D:

Not understanding what you mean... Once you have the SDK... you just code... compile... Done.



Fireclaw
    • Group: VIP Member
    • Title: ∞ Infinite Darkness ∞
    • Posts: 1,210
    • Last active: May 12 2015 04:33 PM
    • Joined: 20 Oct 2013


    Users Awards

Posted 05 June 2014 - 04:37 PM

Not understanding what you mean... Once you have the SDK... you just code... compile... Done.

Hardware parts I mean D:

Hardware compatibility is sh*t :(


Posted Image





0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users